2014 State Film Production Incentive Programs

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures, March 28, 2014

From the summary:
The use of tax incentives and credits for film and television production is a relatively recent phenomenon as the number of states offering film production incentives grew from just a handful in the early 2000s to a majority of states by 2010. Currently thirty-nine states and Puerto Rico have film production incentive on their books for 2014. As the number of states offering film incentives has grown, so to have the debates surrounding the benefits and economic impacts of these programs.

Reflecting this debate, recent state actions around film incentives are as varied as the states themselves. Over the past few years, several states including Arizona, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri and Wisconsin have ended their incentive programs, or have not included funding for the programs in upcoming budgets. Connecticut suspended its incentives for film production, but maintains tax credits for other types of media. Other states have pared back their incentives packages, reducing the overall rebate or credit a production can claim. At the same time, some states, such as Hawaii, have increased their allocations for film incentive programs, increasing the credit or rebate amount production companies can receive.

Other states that have not previously had production incentives are throwing their hat into the ring. Beginning January 1, 2014, Nevada’s new transferrable tax credit became available for productions that shoot at least 60 percent in-state and spend a minimum of $500,000. Over half of states with incentive programs require a production to spend a minimum amount on goods and services in the state.

Another trend in production incentives over the past few years is an audit requirement before a production can receive a rebate or credit. At least 15 states now require an audit or other verification from production companies. The following outlines state film incentive programs.